The Arts Commission Presents Fall Fundraiser Hot Glass Features Glass From Around the World

Eye On Art  |  11/04/2019 2:00 pm

The 2019 Hot Glass Gala Auction brings together artists and arts enthusiasts to celebrate Toledo’s heritage as the Glass City and the birthplace of the studio glass movement. New this year, The Arts Commission is offering a “young professionals” ticket price for guests 40 and under to inspire the next generation of glass collectors in Toledo.

The Hot Glass Gala Auction is Friday, November 8th, from 5:30-8:30PM at 300 Madison Lobby. The evening will feature a silent and live auction, heavy hors d’oeuvres provided by The Chop House, desserts and a cash bar. All artwork will be auctioned, as well as several glass experience and tour packages. Admission is $95 per person. Young professionals, ages 40 and under, may purchase at a discounted rate of $45. For tickets to the November 8th auction, please call The Arts Commission at 419-254-2787, ext. 0 or visit

The exhibition, on view to the public now through November 7th, showcases the original creations of leading local, national and international glass artists, culminating in an auction to raise funds that benefit The Arts Commission’s activities and programs. This year’s event features more than 100 original works in glass. Artwork from local artists at Gathered Glassblowing Studio, as well as Alan Iwamura, the Studio Glass Manager at The Toledo Museum of Art, will be up for auction (a full list of artists is located below).

To see a full catalog of glass works in the auction and for more information go to

Following the Hot Glass Gala Auction, guests will be invited to attend a "twilight happy hour" after-party at The Chop House. All Hot Glass Gala Auction ticket holders will receive special happy hour prices on food and drinks from 8:00-10:00PM.

Participating Artists: Mark Abildgaard, Chris Ahalt, Leon Applebaum, Brianna Barron, Brian Becher, Jen Blazina, Mathilde (Tilda) Brown Swanson, Jennifer Caldwell, Jonathan Capps, Jason Chakravarty, Jason Christian, Guy Corrie, Steve Cothern, Eloise Cotton, Amber Cowan, Jennifer Crescuillo, Rob Dauel, Nirit Dekel, Rachel Denny, Dick Ditore, Lauren Eastman Fowler, Shane Fero, Doug Frates, Adam Goldberg and Mike Stevens, Gathered Glass Studio, Emily Gomez, Grant Garmezy, Slate Grove, Jennifer Halvorson, Tess Healy, Alli Hoag, Alan Iwamura, Eric Keller, Janet Kelman, Eamon King, Pavlina Krivy, Patrick LePage, Jeff Mack, Joanna Manousis, Leonard Marty, Tom McGlauchlin (deceased), Shawn Messenger, Ken Miller, J David Norton, Kelly O'Dell, Joel O'Dorisio, Matthew Paskiet, Steven Ramsey, Matthew P Richards, Katrina Ruby, Kari Russel-Pool, Mindy Sand, Ian Schmidt, Jack Schmidt, Robin Schultes, Ethan Stern (sponsored by Hawk Galleries), Austin Stern, Timothy Stover, Laurie Thal, Ryan Thompson, Toledo Museum of Art Glass Studio, Veruska Vagen, Eleonora Valeri, Bertil Vallien (sponsored by Habatat Galleries), James van Deursen, Adam Waimon, Zac Weinberg, Danny White, James Wilbat, Andrew Wu, Homer James Yarrito, Ian Zapico, Michael Zelenka, Robert Zollweg, Paul Otermat, Siem van der Marel.

The Hot Glass Exhibition and Gala Auction is made possible by our generous sponsors: Kingston Healthcare, Rudolph Libbe Group, The Toledo Blade, ProMedica, the Ohio Arts Council, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

A special thank you to our partners 300 Madison, LLC, Brent Lohmann/b|creative, 2- SCALE, and The Chop House.